SWZ  >  
Heterogeneous Human-Machine Teams (HerMes)

Heterogeneous Human-Machine Teams (HerMes)

Increasing networking and digitization is permeating all areas of our industrial society. It enables new networked processes and systems as well as innovative applications, services and business models in industrial manufacturing, logistics and supply web management, energy management, transport and traffic or the life cycle management of complex products. A new type of socio-technical cyberphysical systems is emerging, in which software components, machines, means of transport and intelligent objects (workpieces, consignments) are actors that are increasingly equipped with autonomy and self-control. The comprehensive networking and coordination of these machine actors among themselves on the one hand and with humans on the other hand results in complex and dynamic overall systems whose development (engineering, modeling and simulation), validation and optimization are associated with major scientific challenges.

For the interdisciplinary scientific investigation of these questions against the background of the above-mentioned fields of application, the consideration of heterogeneous functional and organizational networks (in the following: Human-Machine-Teams (HMTs))) is of particular importance, consisting of networked human and machine actors. They coordinate actions in common environments to achieve local goals or are entrusted with the execution of common tasks. They exchange information and optimize their use of resources or task-related collaboration.

The mastery of heterogeneous human-machine teams requires interdisciplinary cooperation, especially between computer science, information and systems technology, mathematics, data science and economics. The research of models, methods and technologies for engineering, simulation, validation and optimization of heterogeneous HMTs forms the basis of future industrial production systems, in which humans together with automated conveyor and robot systems form teams for the realization of flexible and efficient manufacturing or dismantling.

An interdisciplinary team of researchers will investigate current issues in the context of heterogeneous HMTs:
 

  1. Engineering and validation of heterogeneous HMTs: Which models and methods can be used to validate the behavior of heterogeneous HMTs? Concrete questions include:
     

    1. How must human-machine interfaces be designed to enable the safe transfer of control between human and machine actors?
       
    2. How can the human control capability (i.e. willingness or ability to take or maintain control) be reliably assessed before the transfer of control from a human to a machine or backwards?
       

  2. Simulation and optimization of heterogeneous HMTs: With which methods and tools can heterogeneous HMTs be mapped in simulations under consideration of real system contexts? How can continuous monitoring, control and optimization of heterogeneous HMTs be achieved in combination with sensors, actuators and simulation? Concrete questions include:
     

    1. How can accurate contextual models of heterogeneous HMTs (e.g. realistic movement and intention models at the operational or tactical level) be provided using networked sensor technologies and used e.g. in simulations?
       
    2. Which mechanisms are suitable for modelling and optimizing coordination of heterogeneous HMTs? Which algorithms can be used for continuous optimization under consideration of temporal boundary conditions?

SWZ  >  
HerMes

Heterogene Mensch-Maschine-Teams (HerMes)

Die zunehmende Vernetzung und Digitalisierung durchdringt alle Bereiche unserer Industriegesellschaft. Sie ermöglicht neue vernetzte Prozesse und Systeme sowie innovative Anwendungen, Dienste und Geschäftsmodelle in der industriellen Fertigung, Logistik und Supply Web Management, Energiemanagement, Transport und Verkehr oder dem Lebenszyklusmanagement komplexer Produkte. Es entsteht ein neuer Typus soziotechnischer cyberphysischer Systeme, in denen Softwarekomponenten, Maschinen, Förder- und Transportmittel und intelligente Objekte (Werkstücke, Sendungen) Akteure darstellen, die zunehmend mit Autonomie und Selbststeuerungsfähigkeit ausgestattet sind. Durch die übergreifende Vernetzung und Koordination dieser maschinellen Akteure untereinander einerseits sowie mit dem Menschen andererseits entstehen komplexe und dynamische Gesamtsysteme, deren Entwicklung (Engineering, Modellierung und Simulation), Absicherung und Optimierung mit großen wissenschaftlichen Herausforderungen verbunden sind.

Für die interdisziplinäre wissenschaftliche Untersuchung dieser Fragestellungen vor dem Hintergrund der oben genannten Anwendungsbereiche ist von besonderer Bedeutung die Betrachtung heterogener Funktions- und Organisationsverbünde (im Folgenden: Mensch-Maschine-Teams (MMTs)), die aus vernetzten menschlichen und maschinellen Akteuren bestehen. Diese koordinieren in gemeinsamen Umgebungen Handlungen zur Erreichung lokaler Ziele oder sind mit der Ausführung gemeinsamer Aufgaben betraut. Dabei tauschen sie Informationen aus und optimieren ihre Ressourcennutzung oder die aufgabenbezogene Zusammenarbeit.

Die Beherrschung heterogener Mensch-Maschine-Teams erfordert eine interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit insbesondere von Informatik, Informations- und Systemtechnik, Mathematik, Data Science und Wirtschaftswissenschaften. Die Erforschung von Modellen, Methoden und Technologien für Engineering, Simulation, Absicherung und Optimierung heterogener MMTs bildet die Grundlage zukünftiger industrieller Produktionssysteme, in denen Menschen zusammen mit automatisierten Förder- und Robotersystemen Teams zur Realisierung einer flexiblen und effizienten Fertigung oder Demontage bilden.

In einem interdisziplinären Forscherteam sollen aktuelle Fragestellungen im Kontext heterogener MMTs erforscht werden:
 

  1. Engineering und Absicherung heterogener MMTs: Mit welchen Modellen und Methoden kann eine Absicherung des Verhaltens heterogener MMTs erfolgen? Konkrete Fragestellungen umfassen dabei:
     

    1. Wie müssen Mensch-Maschine-Schnittstellen gestaltet sein, um die Kontrollübergabe zwischen menschlichen und maschinellen Akteuren in sicherer Art und Weise zu ermöglichen?
       
    2. Wie kann vor der Übergabe der Kontrolle von einem Menschen zur Maschine oder zurück die Kontrollfähigkeit des Menschen (d.h., die Bereitschaft oder Fähigkeit, die Kontrolle zu übernehmen oder zu halten) zuverlässig abgeschätzt werden?
       

  2. Simulation und Optimierung heterogener MMTs: Mit welchen Methoden und Werkzeugen können heterogene MMTs unter Berücksichtigung realer Systemkontexte in Simulationen abgebildet werden? Wie kann im Zusammenspiel mit Sensorik, Aktorik und Simulation eine kontinuierliche Überwachung, Steuerung und Optimierung heterogener MMTs erreicht werden? Konkrete Fragestellungen umfassen:
     

    1. Wie können unter Nutzung vernetzter Sensortechnologien akkurate kontextaktuelle Modelle heterogener MMTs (z.B. realistische Bewegungs- und Intentionsmodelle auf operativer oder taktischer Ebene) bereitgestellt und z.B. in Simulationen genutzt werden?
       
    2. Welche Mechanismen sind zur Modellierung und Optimierung von Koordination heterogener MMTs geeignet? Mit welchen Algorithmen kann eine kontinuierliche Optimierung unter Betrachtung zeitlicher Randbedingungen erfolgen?